Some reflections from this week


This past week I have had three significant spiritual prompts that I shall proceed to share below.

God desires to continuously bless us. However, sometimes we make a choice to walk away from communion with Him and he cannot bless us in those circumstances because He is a holy God and will not sully his name. However, His word does talk of  God as a Father that causes sunshine and raise to fall on the just and unjust (Matt 5:45) and so in this we can take comfort because He will still bless us but the extent is limited or enhanced by our action.

Through suffering, God refines the just and the unjust. Speaking with a friend, I loved this explanation of why bad things happen to good and bad people alike.

Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us. (Rom 3:3-5 NIV)

All of us need to learn something about ourselves or our faith at each point in our lives and so we each have that thing that makes us stop and cleave onto Christ because of the hope it inevitably builds in us.

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. This is very true and never more this week.

First, I have been attending an evening Bible Study and a lot of it is tailored around group work. This week I sat next to these two friends (a guy and girl) and I was moaning about working in groups again (fourth week, one more to go) and then about being with them because they appeared very quiet and I’d have to get things going for all of us. The guy was very quiet and less expressive and only later did he explain how English is not his first language and how he struggles to express himself because he hasn’t studied much and I was so chastened and it also cautioned me to be very patient with people that are “other” in my life. Also, made me wonder how many people leave Church because of such superficial things like they feel like they are not speaking or sounding right, looking good, dressed well or driving a nice car.

Second, I have often felt like a new colleague is sometimes overbearing and quite bossy BUT, in the name of being professional I had decided to take it in my stride and handle that. Early this week, we got sharing and she shared with us about her mom’s final days in care and the toll it took on her being in South Africa and the mom in Europe (to protect her I won’t say the name of the country) and as she shared, I started to see her in a new light and based on that moment, I decided to be easy and take her as she is not out of pity but because of a difficult part in her past. I like the quote above and I always tie it to the fact that we are made in the image and likeness of God (Genesis 1:27) and therefore I must be careful with that fact for we are in that sense supernatural beings and deserve honour and respect just for that if nothing else.

Leave a Reply

