Choosing, choice, freedom, boundaries and all that jazz


Please read this, kind of long-ish post about choice and how cultures around the worl make decisions and then watch the talks below.

In response, this made me think of how I grew up with a very small sphere within which I could choose things because a lot of the boundaries were determined for me and all that was left for me was to choose within those limits. As an example, I had to study for two hours during the holidy afternoons between 2 and 4 rather than play with my friends outside, what I could choose though is whether to study Maths or English. My sisters and I had to pick one evening of the week to cook because my mom would not be cooking for us all anymore (she had the weekend to do that) so whatever day I selected, it had to be done.

I think about this particularly around parenting and how children today get involved in so many decisions and how it would be so much easier if the bigger-ish decisions were made for them and they were given a small sphere to operate within and as they grew up, reduce the bounds of decision and allow them the freedom to make their own decisions and serve more as an advisor or a sounding board. Too idealist, maybe so I shall see once I am a mom.

Leave a Reply

