Story of The wedding


Over the next few days, I shall be reviewing different aspects of the wedding. Please stick around and let me know your thoughts.

IMG-20140819-WA0007

This is the one post that will make me wish repeatedly that I shared pics of myself online/ for this blog. The outline of the questions are inspired by one of my favourite blogs, Southbound Bride.

Love Story

The Mr and I met at Wits University while undertaking our Honours degrees in 2008. I had recently moved cities and he was one of the people I soon became friends with.

The Proposal

We had spoken of getting married and so I knew that he would ask just not when. I sound like a control freak but I had also given some guidelines, not in a public place and not in front of any of our families and I didn’t want something over the top. One Thursday after work, I went over to his place and he met me at the door, seated me comfortably then he knelt and asked me to marry him. Knowing it was coming and seeing it happen, two very different things!

The Venue

Well funny story. We selected a venue, paid a deposit went for the decor set up and all of then then life happened and we changed our venue to the Spruitview Multipurpose Park where with three months to go, we started to plan the wedding afresh.

The Wedding in 3 Words

Happy, relaxed and personal

Wedding Style

We really had no style, we just knew we didn’t want it to be too stuffy, we wanted it to reflect our personality and we certainly did not have anything that 30 years from now we would look at and think, why did we select that? I’d say elegant and timeless is something we strove towards. Our wedding colours were yellow and navy blue with touches of white.

DIY Elements

We proudly had none. We didn’t have time as both of us were working full time and planning the wedding. We opted to pay vendors to bring to pass our vision.

The Flowers

I happen to be that one bride that doesn’t like flowers much. I had a small bouquet of blush proteas for me and yellow arums for the girls.

The Dress

I had a mermaid style sleeveless dress with an illusion neckline. Early on, I knew I did not want a strapless dress because I am not so big on top and I didn’t want the dress to look like a towel on me. I wanted (and got) a plunging back which greatly appealed to me. My sister lent me her veil, which my mom lovingly fixed up for me.

Memorable Moment

Walking down the aisle and having my mom hand me over to the Mr and the moment when the guests realised what our first dance was.

Proudly South African / EA details

  • We served traditional cakes and traditional ginger beer at the reception.
  • We presented cakes to our respective in-laws.
  • On the menu we had a Kenyan salsa (kachumbari) and South African dishes such as samp and ting‘.

The Honeymoon

We spoke about the budget and then the Mr went ahead and booked us 7 glorious days in Mauritius. It was winter and off-season but we enjoyed it just as much and I cannot sing enough of the country’s beauty. The hills and how lush it is reminded me greatly of Uganda.

Advice for Future Brides & Grooms

  • Compare quotes from two or three suppliers, make a decision and stop looking.
  • Determine your budget and try as much to stick to it – see what your negotiables and non-negotiables are.
  • Hire a wedding planner if you can, if you can’t don’t work with family members.
  • Have an engagement shot with your photographer, it helps to relax you and you practice for the big day.
  • Relax on the day itself and savour each and every moment because it goes by very quickly.

Tomorrow I will share about the special vendors that made our day possible.

2 responses to “Story of The wedding

  1. Hahaha, it took me a while to get my blogging mojo on and I wanted to share about the wedding too. Traditional or not,when I come to visit Mr and Mrs TTO, I shall expect to be serenaded with song and a first dance 🙂

  2. Firstly, I’m so glad that you are back 🙂 I missed your blogging!

    Secondly, it was THE BEST first dance. I told EVERYONE about it. I am very glad that we are going the traditional route so I don’t have to live up to the very high standard you set!

Leave a Reply

