Daily Prompt: Teachers’ Pet


This is a belated Daily Post from the 8th of January titled:

Jan 8

Teacher’s pet

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life,
either for the better or the worse. How is your life different
today because of him or her?

I encountered the teacher that had the most impact in my life in my first year at University. She taught me a course titled “Communication and Culture” over two semesters and her name was Rebecca Ng’ang’a. Not only did she teach the course content but she was inspirational as well and imparted various life lessons. As a first year course predominantly, and for many, our first time in University these lessons were important as University tends to come with a lot of freedom and spare time.

I remember about her course that we had to write a “Reflection”, an essay on some part of her class and we had to write a minimum of ten of each per semester. They could not be superficial as what she cared most about was how the course content was changing your world-view or previous perceptions of a particular topic. I recently came across some of them and it’s amazing how much I have grown up or how in some areas I have developed. Case in point was in the area of marriage, in my younger days I might have been a bit cynical and even dubious of the fact that people could commit to each other in that way. Obviously, that has changed.

I  also liked her approach to teaching because she taught us to really interact with the information imparted and to continually question our assumptions – something I don’t always do but I have recently been challenged to start doing once again.

On a less inspirational note, I did particularly like her because she was comfortable in her skin and would often poke fun at herself and make endearing self-deprecating comments of herself which made her human in my eyes unlike some of my earlier teachers that always felt the need to be super heroes. That and the fact that she took pains to dress up to class and would often colour coordinate her outfit, from the hat on her head to the little shoes on her feet and her bag. If it was a red day, she was dressed in red throughout and boy would she rock the monochromatic look!!

More importantly, she had a passion and a zeal for Christ and she often talked of her relationship with Christ and that inspired me to want to get to that point in my life and/or in my walk with Christ. And this is what I most fondly remember about Mrs. Ng’ang’a. My sister recently met her and I only wish I had gotten the chance to say to her how much she had inspired me all those years back and at that particular stage of my Christian life. 

4 responses to “Daily Prompt: Teachers’ Pet

  1. I love her too, I looked forwad to laughs in class and she has no clue how she makes people laugh. But the most beautiful part is how she impacted in our lives so immensely, yet she didn’t have to. She is amazing. Kindly get to me on estherneema@gmail.com, perhaps you can get to tell her in person soon I hope :). Great read.

    • She does have a profound email on us her students and I would definitely relish the opportunity to tell her just how much. I will email you shortly. Thanks for reading and great blog you have there!

  2. This lady made us laugh so hard last year! She shares such profound truths with ease and humor. She is graceful and has now managed to get the mister in her life to wear matching outfits (shirts) with hers, they are a formidable duo together and in their own rights too

    • He is also just as hilarious. Their very lives talk of their faith and how they believe in each other as individuals and how that sustains their marriage. I have also met their two daughters, so different to their folks and each other!!

Leave a Reply

