Summer loving


Ed. note: Really wish I had taken my camera along and taken pics, the visions would have been awesome Sad smile (Click on pic for source)

This was that first weekend when the cold weather finally passed and we had temps of at least 30 – 32 degrees.

Friday night, had dinner at Doppio with an old uni friend.

Had the worst service ever – starting with the Waiter coming to ask if I know that the table is reserved (yes, for me) and when he checked that twice, he asked, what do you want? what can I get you? All this without the menu! Jeez! It was downhill after that. He got my friends order wrong and the main chef had to come out and check what the misunderstanding was – she wanted prawns and he brought her a vegetarian dish! How’s that for a change in expectations. Long and short, did not tip him because after the mishap with the food, he would not speak to us. Love the restaurant but he was just having an awful day.

Yesterday morning, met with a work mate and we headed to the Johannesburg Art Gallery (JAG) in Joubert Park, in the heart of the CBD.

It was really lovely. We got there half an hour early and my friend wanted to get coffee (in Hillbrow, OK?) and so we walked around for like half an hour and finally got the best tea for R3 a pop! Best and cheapest tea like ever, only needed mandazi or chapati to accompany it. Woulda made it awesome! But it was lovely, always wanted to walk around Hillbrow and the CBD and though I haven’t quite finished that, its a part tick on the list.

It took us about an hour to get through it, I expected it would be much bigger than that for some reason. It had some lovely pieces and great installations in place. Art to me has to make sense, can’t be abstract coz I just can’t make it out. Now that I have been there once, I would definitely go back for additional exhibitions and would recommend it to anyone.

The best part for me was the bit with the different prayers coming through the speaker boxes (above) and the bit with the different elements of faith or spirituality in Southern Africa,

2 responses to “Summer loving

  1. I love such blog posts. It makes me feel I’m walking those same streets and having the same experience. You should do more of these. As for that waiter….excuse us???????????? You should see how my friend Cyndi handles them. she would have even called the manager at the end of the meal to detail the good, the bad and the ugly. I can’t wait to visit proper museums. I loved this post

    • I DONT USUALLY CAUSE A BIG RUCKUS BECAUSE I THINK THEY MIGHT SPIT IN MY FOOD – I TOTS WOULD IF MY CUSTOMER DID THAT TO ME AND GOT ME INTO TROUBLE WITH MY SUPERVISOR. ENJOYED WRITING IT TOO – GOING ON A ROAD TRIP NEXT WEEK, WILL TAKE PICS AND SHARE … THANKS FOR STOPPING BY!

Leave a Reply

