Twenty years ago


On this day, I remember that we were all home and my dad was transfixed to the telly watching Mandela being released from prison. The thing that stuck out the most in my mind was that the telly was on during the day because that pretty much never happened at our home.  Its twenty years on and as with any newly independent nation, this is when the cracks begin to show and all the hope that was felt on that day begins to evaporate a whole lot more.

3 responses to “Twenty years ago

  1. Reblogged this on first hand accounts of a former homebody and commented:

    26 years on …

  2. Papa was saying how he never thought he would live to see the fall of apartheid and the economic crisis…I tell u he is still amazed by this 20 years on. And the economic crisis made him really wonder, pray for him to go back to school to utilise his sharp brains, I keep telling him he needs to read as he is a source of knowledge I tell u.

    I THINK THAT MANY OF THE OLDER FOLK MIGHT HAVE GIVEN UP ON A FREE SOUTH AFRICA AND THEN HE WAS RELEASED. THE ECONOMIC CRISIS SHOOK A LOT OF WHAT HAD BEEN TAKEN FOR GRANTED AS UNSHAKEABLE DOGMA AND THEN BOOM! LETS PRAY THOUGH THAT HE GO BACK TO SCHOOL

  3. Twenty years ago I was 4 going on 5. I never knew what monumental moment was taking place. I can only be grateful I didn’t grow up learning to hate.

    I do however think you have a very good point with regards to your last sentence.

    THANKS TJ, FUNNY THING, I HAD JUST TURNED FIVE TWENTY YEARS AGO AND THOUGH I DIDNT RECOGNIZE THE SIGNIFICANCE OF THE MOMENT, EVEN AT THAT AGE, I KNEW THAT IT WAS A BIG MOMENT.

Leave a Reply

