Carolina


Guess who’s coming to dinner? Akon is in town. I am not particularly a fan or anything but remain interested because of the number of times he has dissed Kenya and then tonight he is performing in Joburg and tomorrow in  Cape Town. What will his fans in Kenya think?

This coming week I have to do my presentation based on my topic which in a nutshell I’m asking whether its possible to calculate total economic value for non market assets and services. Yeah, basically when running Cost-Benefit Analyses, we assume that the enviroment has a zero value but nothing could be further from the truth than that. Thing is, I have NO data for this and I have an assignment this week that will basically be asking me what data will I be using and whats its integrity- questions that my sixteen and a half year old head had never once considered six months ago. Growing up sucks and all. After I finish writing my long essay, Id be ever so glad if i never have to hear words like “randomization, quasi and non- randomization experiments,  literature review, Labour Force Surveys, methodology, and what have you.

Running on empty, run out of masks are all phrases that have been coming to mind this past week as i thought about a pal of mine. A pal of mine once told me this Greek Myth about Narcissus who was especially cruel to Echo who used to look upon him with Love and he rebuffed her coz he was so into himself ( the root for the word narcissist) but anyhu, Echo looked at this Narcissus and loved him but nothing doing. The way I was told this was she loved him and though she knew he couldn’t love her back, she knew she was the best thing for him. MORAL:  sometimes you know (you are) the best thing for someone but while they find themselves and see this for themselves you just gotta sit by and let them stumble and fall a coupl of times all the while you watch from NOT TOO FAR away. I wonder always whether its possible to love someone too much? I mean, if you know what someone needs why cant they hand over life rights to you and then you do whats gotta be done and hand things over to them? Life ..

subsequent to blogging here i learnt the name of the book is “why am i afraid to tell you who i am?”. My favest poem,scratch that, the only one i know is called Whititude by Austin Bukenya from Heinemann Poems or something, could someone type it out and send it to me? PLEASE…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

