in pursuit of Job


By Marianne Williamson

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness
That most frightens us.

We ask ourselves
Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.

Your playing small
Does not serve the world.
There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking
So that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We are all meant to shine,
As children do.
We were born to make manifest
The glory of God that is within us.

It’s not just in some of us;
It’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,
We unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.
As we’re liberated from our own fear,
Our presence automatically liberates others.

Note: This quote is taken from Marianne Williamson’s book “A Return to Love”. Though often quoted as part of Nelson Mandela’s moving inaugural speech, “Our Deepest Fear” does not appear in the speech.

 I came from Church earlier today and I heard this lovely sermon about the lady at the well and the story  of the Israelites in the desert who grumbled about the water. How often do I grumble? how often do I turn to the Lord and throw back all the blessings that he has given me and in essence tell him, old Guy, have that? I feared yesterday that I might be losing my faith, is it possible to lose our faith, how do we know when we lose it? how do we lose it? is it possible or is it a lie? I don’t think so but i know that I need to get back to Penuel, can I remember where that is? A lyric in a Sarah Groves song about asking Job why he hung on when all that stuff happened with him? Why did he hung on when it got all ELEPHANT for him? how do I build up that kind of faith for myself? it is a new beginning for me and I’m going all out and savouring this for all its worth, so join me, lets toast to better days and trusting in God despite it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

