what a weekend!


Friday after my rather difficult French Class a classmate and I decided to venture to the FCC Gardens and see the finals of this nationwide Afro-Fusion shindig . I met my high school History teacher and well, time heals all bile coz we hugged and talked about what we have been up to in the last couple of years. The concert was running late and I just realized that the crowd was totally different from what I am used to at the largely Christian Concerts I attend – the crowd was drank,booing and jeering and it took everything in me not to roll my eyes. Other than the fact that it was different, I must say I did enjoy myself greatly and I was glad to have cleared my evening plans to attend.

Saturday was the Bridal shower. I was on my feet since 10 a.m. trying to organize people and things and it just wasn’t working out. I had hoped to get their early and help out with the cooking and setting up but by the time we all got there,it was already underway. We went to buy her lingerie at this shop and the attendant was being a right old douche giving us lip and attitude at each turn and as we were paying, I calmly told her that her behaviour and conduct was unacceptable to paying customers ati she was saying we had taken too long to make a decision and we were wasting her time!!!! The cheek of her! But I don’t think she will be doing that anytime soon- so the shower?

We were about thirty girls who know her from the various areas of her life. I wondered how many people would come for my “surprise” shower but anyhoo, that’s neither here nor there. The talk was being given by these four Pastor Wives and I was hoping that they would be REAL with us. I just hate how women never tell each other the truth about marriage and child birth. They make it out to be one big holiday even when they are hating every minute of it and then these were Pastors wives! It was quite honest and informative though at the end of it I had decided NEVER to go for another shower again and that I know I am definitely NOT ready for marriage like anytime soon. It felt like too much and then I just wondered, dudes don’t have a Shower where they are told what is expected of them and how they need to do this or not do the other and that’s what saddened me coz the undertone was we make all the adjustments and they just ride the wave. As a Christian I have no qualms with Ephesians. 5:22 where wives ought to submit what I do wonder though, is why do we also forget Christ’s exhortation to the men? to love his wife as Christ loved the Church and gave His life for her? convenient,eh? I got home quite exhausted and promptly fell into bed.

I went to Church yesterday and came home to watch Season Three of Grey’s Anatomy. Good times I tell you. I also watched the Eviction Show of BBA2 and I was so glad that Maureen left. The girl was slowly loosing it in the house and if her interview with KB is anything to go by, chick is gone beyond help. I did like Jose Chameleone’s performance though he totally brought down the house.

3 responses to “what a weekend!

  1. Sure does..or maybe the message is loud n clear from the start..that its a woman’s responsibility to make the marriage work. and thats why when the woman stops making it work aka taking all sorts of crap…invariably the marriage breaks down.

  2. its a pity really and doesnt this doom the whole thing when one party knows whats expected and the other is clueless?

  3. “dudes dont have a Shower where they are told what is expected of them and how they need to do this or not do the other and thats what saddened me coz the undertone was we make all the adjustments and they just ride the wave. As a Christian I have no qualms with Eph. 5:22 where wives ought to submit what I do wonder though,is why do we also forget Christ’s exhortation to the men? to love his wife as Christ loved the Church and gave His life for her?”

    Well said

Leave a Reply

